Bangkok is both the province with the highest population and the highest population density.
The biggest province by area is Nakhon Ratchasima, the smallest Samut Songkhram. Ranong
has the lowest population number, while Mae Hong Son has the lowest population density
(numbers according to 2000 census).

Each province is administered by a governor, who is appointed by the Ministry of the Interior.
The only exception is Bangkok, whose governor is elected.

The provinces are subdivided into 877 districts (amphoe,. The fifty districts of Bangkok are
called khet , but even in official documents they are sometimes misidentified as amphoe. The
number of districts in the provinces varies, from three in the smallest provinces to the fifty in
Bangkok. Further subdivision levels are tambon (subdistricts) and finally, muban (villages). In
Bangkok the tambon are called khwaeng
North (Green)

1. Chiang Mai
2. Chiang Rai
3. Lampang
4. Lamphun
5. Mae Hong Son
6. Nan
7. Phayao
8. Phrae
9. Uttaradit
East (Blue)

1. Chachoengsao
2. Chanthaburi
3. Chon Buri
4. Prachin Buri
5. Rayong
6. Sa Kaeo
7. Trat
South  (Orchid)

1. Chumphon
2. Krabi
3. Nakhon Si Thammarat
4. Narathiwat
5. Pattani
6. Phang Nga
7. Phatthalung
8. Phuket
9. Ranong
10. Satun
11. Songkhla
12. Surat Thani
13. Trang
14. Yala

1. Amnat Charoen
2. Buri Ram
3. Chaiyaphum
4. Kalasin
5. Khon Kaen
6. Loei
7. Maha Sarakham
8. Mukdahan
9. Nakhon Phanom
10. Nakhon Ratchasima
11. Nong Bua Lamphu
12. Nong Khai
13. Roi Et
14. Sakon Nakhon
15. Si Sa Ket
16. Surin
17. Ubon Ratchathani
18. Udon Thani
19. Yasothon

1. Ang Thong
2. Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya   
3. Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha     
Nakhon), Special Governed
4. Chai Nat
5. Kamphaeng Phet
6. Lop Buri
7. Nakhon Nayok
8. Nakhon Pathom
9. Nakhon Sawan
10. Nonthaburi
11. Pathum Thani
12. Phetchabun
13. Phichit
14. Phitsanulok
15. Sukhothai
16. Samut Prakan
17. Samut Sakhon
18. Samut Songkhram
19. Saraburi
20. Sing Buri
21. Suphan Buri
22. Uthai Thani

Click Map To Enlarge
Don's Life In Thailand
List Of Provinces
Thailand is divided into 75 provinces
(Thai: changwat, singular and plural),
which are grouped into 5 groups of
provinces - sometimes the East and
Central are grouped together. The
capital Bangkok, though not a province
but a special administrative area, is
usually also included as a 76th province
as it is at the same administrative level
as the other provinces. The name of the
province is the same as that of the
capital city, which is sometimes
preceded with a Mueang to avoid
confusion with the province. With the
exception of Songkhla, Chon Buri and
Prachuap Khiri Khan, the capital is also
the biggest city in the province.
West (Orange)

1. Kanchanaburi
2. Phetchaburi
3. Prachuap Khiri Khan
4. Ratchaburi
5. Tak
Map Of Thailand